About PIWA
Member benefits
How to join
Our directors
Contact PIWA

Abe Snyder
memorial scholarship program

The Professional Insurance Wholesalers Association of New York is pleased to be able to honor Abe Snyder through the creation of the Abe Snyder Memorial Scholarship. Each year, PIWA sponsors the Abe Snyder Memorial Scholarship Dinner, and the funds raised at this event support the scholarship program in Abe’s name.

Donate to the scholarship fund

Abe encouraged the youth of today to pursue educational opportunities that would enable them to become successful leaders in the insurance field. He was a dedicated member and past president of PIWA, and a staunch supporter of PIWA’s mission and its members.

Download an application

Scholarship awards
Scholarships will be in the amount of $2,500 per academic year. The scholarship fund will provide up to two scholarships per academic year.

Applications must be received at PIWA’s office by Oct. 13, to be considered. All applicants will be notified by e-mail or mail no later than Oct. 17. The award recipient(s) and a companion will be invited as guests of the PIWA board of directors to the PIWA Annual Conference Awards Dinner, at which time the scholarship(s) will be presented.

Primary award criteria/eligibility**

  • Must be participating in a risk management and insurance major at an accredited college
  • Academic achievement
  • Community/extracurricular involvement
  • Demonstrated leadership
  • Awards and recognition
  • Work history
  • Personal interview (optional on the part of the committee)

** Family members of the scholarship committee are ineligible for scholarship assistance during the committee member’s tenure on the committee.

Include with the application

  • Three letters of reference (from teachers, employers, clergy or community service/volunteer supervisors)
  • Essay (500 words) illustrating the student’s interest in pursuing a career in the insurance industry
  • Résumé
  • Latest high school or college transcript

Award restrictions

  • The award is nonrenewable, but applicants may reapply each year
  • Individuals are eligible to receive up to four consecutive awards
  • Award recipients will be expected to maintain a minimum GPA of 3.0 during the academic year in which the scholarship is received (and may be requested to provide a college transcript for verification).



Connect with PIWA: LinkedIn